Mapping Out My Fitness Goals 

I have always been the type of person who is motivated by goals and deadlines. I loved planning parties at our house because I knew that it meant we’d get the house in order. Just ask my husband, who completed our kitchen remodel on Christmas Eve for the brunch we were hosting Christmas Day. (Did I mention he’s a saint?) I’ve found similar success when setting fitness goals and committing to specific deadlines. A few years ago, I was in a bit of a slump and needed motivation. So I signed up for an uphill 10k and spent my 27th birthday conquering that beast of a hill. I did it, but only because the commitment forced me to train.

If you read my last post, you know that I’ve been at a bit of a stand still while baby and I have been recooperating. But now that I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, it’s time to get my butt in gear.   It’s time to move my physical health up the list of priorities.  I’ve mapped out my fitness goals for 2017 and am ready to get to it. Training starts now!

60 Day Challenge – February 11th through April 8th

Lifetime’s 90 Day Challenge was what got me into shape previously, so I figure that this is a great opportunity to jump start my physical transformation. I lost 73% of my body fat last time. With a shorter time period and the fact that being able to continue nursing my son is a priority for me, I’m shooting for a 30% change with this one. 

Paczki Run 5k – February 25th

Well, I never thought I’d see a 5k on my list of goals, but after a brief stint on the treadmill a few weeks ago, I’ve come to terms with where my strength and endurance currently stand. Some of our family is going to race and even more will be celebrating afterwards. Sounds like a good way to slip back into running.

Zoo-de-Mackinac – May 20th

This is a 51 mile bike ride along Lake Michigan. I nearly died of leg pain the last time my cousin and I did it, probably because I hadn’t been on a bike once leading up to it. Lesson learned. This year, I’ll train. 

My Birthday – June 12th

I will be celebrating my big 3-0 this year in my pre-baby clothes. I know that 6 months seems like a long time to reach this goal, but if I’m going to get back there, it’s going to take time. I actually think this is a bit ambitious, as I was in the best shape of my life before I got pregnant, but I’m up for the challenge.

Lake Orion Half Marathon – September 10th

I’ve never run this far before, so I’m a bit intimidated. But it’s on the list and I’m going to make it happen!

If you’re a fellow Michigander and would like to join me for one of these events, let me know! Or if you have a suggestion of an event or goal I should add, please do share. I’m so excited for everything that this year holds for my fitness journey. I’ve got my running shoes and my game face on.  It’s go time!

  

Leave a comment